17
Mar
10

The Fat Photographer’s New Toy

Canon EOS-1 D Mark IV

OK, I have been lusting after this for a while, and eventually it turned up.  Good thing too, as in the UK this would have been HK$9,000 more than the price I paid here ( I managed to get it for HK$1,000 under the list price, not much, but when you consider how hard it is to get here, I was happy).

You may have noticed that I haven’t attached the camera strap, well, that’s because I am getting a black rapid rs-4 from Victor at PASM Workshop. Anyway it took a while to charge the battery.  Did I use this time constructively, by reading the manual – no, at 274 pages, I am not likely to, either.  Eventually with a fully charged battery, I took a few test shots, wanting to try the high ISO capabilties of this beast.

Auto everything

First up everything on auto, AWB, auto ISO, P mode, JPEG straight out of the camera (the actual shot settings were

Exposure: 1/50 sec
Aperture: f/1.4
ISO Speed: 2000

Yes there is some noise, but for ISO 2000, whose complaining?

Next up a long exposure:-

30 secs @ f/13, iso 100

30 seconds at f/13 on iso 100 – lovely jubbly

So next we had to see what the top iso was like.

iso 12,800

OK at iso 12800, as you would expect there is noise, lots of it, in fact, but this shot was exposed for 1/10 sec at f/8  – so if I was going handheld I could have shot it at f/2 at 1/40 second.  This kit has possibilties.  I am keen to into Lan kwai Fong tonight and get some St patrick’s celebration night pictures; unfortunately, I have to pack for a business trip to Dalian.

0 Responses to “The Fat Photographer’s New Toy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

