22
Mar
10

Mabuhay!

So, my first trip to the Phillipines in loads of years. Due to my procrastination, the only flight available was the 9 am flight with Cathay, and even that was full!  Good thing though, as I got a free upgrade.

I still don’t quite understand the airport; after you clear customs, anything could happen – fortunately Sheng was there to meet me, which is a good thing as it was her I came to see!

I am staying at the Shangri-La Edsa, which to be honest is a little tired, but the staff are very pleasant and there is a nice pool area in the garden – an oasis of calm in the bustle of Manila.

Having got changed, Sheng drageed me out to the SM Mall of Asia.  I supposed she wanted to impress me with its size and stuff, but joining 200,000 shoppers is not my idea of fun.  Anyway we walked a little distance to the seafront and settled down to some Filipino food.  Too be honest I am not sure exactly what the dishes were called, there was something called sisig, and some kind of beef soup with a peanut sauce and I had a marlin steak.

0 Responses to “Mabuhay!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

