06
Apr
10

More reflections on my time in Hong Kong

One thing I was unprepared for when I came to  Hong Kong was the weather.  Most of my visits to Hong Kong had either been in winter time, or if during the summer, then I had been wrapped in the invisible hand of air conditioning.  So, for the first few months, it felt I was living in a permanent bath of sweat.  Then there was the visibility, or rather the lack of it.  My desk overlooks Victoria Harbour, but sometimes it felt like I could have been anywhere, as my view was of a grey vista.

Of course I was prepared for the typhoons, looking forward to the Typhoon signal 8 to be hoisted, so I could finish work early.  Actually in the time I have been here that has only happened a couple of times, and a couple of times my travel has been disrupted, trying to get back to Hong Kong from  Shanghai and Singapore.

Then winter comes around again, my favourite time of year.  Switch off the aircon and open the windows; put on warmer clothes.  And the winter fashions on the girls are just so cute, with the seemingly obligatory uniform of knee length boots, short skirt and North Face padded jacket.  This is the time to go up the peak and take the picture that everyone seems to take of Hong Kong.

Hong Kong viewed from the Peak

0 Responses to “More reflections on my time in Hong Kong”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

