02
Jul
11

I have been on holiday

I haven’t posted for a while because, for the last fortnight I have been on holiday in Phuket, indulging in my favourite pastimes of meeting up with old friends, spicy food, photography, and lying on the beach all day doing nothing!

This is my first time back since completing the portrait photography course, and I was keen to practice what I had learned on the course.  I have found, in the past, that Thais can pose quite naturally, and trying to get them to break away from that pose was really quite difficult, but I persevered and got some really quite nice photos.

Of course, not having studio lighting or posing blocks with me made life slightly difficult, but I reckon I did OK.

On the last night of my holiday, in return for a home cooked Thai meal. I photographed the family of friends Nikke and Ead, which I have been doing for the last three years, now.  The photos were taken with a single off camera flash into an umbrella, and I was reasonably happy with the results.

Next weekend, I am starting out on the Barrett & Coe Wedding photography course, which I am really looking forward to.  I already have a work colleague who wants me to fly out to Switzerland next year to photograph her wedding; however, i have a funny feeling that she doesn’t want to pay me anything more than my expenses.

0 Responses to “I have been on holiday”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

